The Learning for a Better World (LBW) Trust draws on the generosity of the Australian and international cricketing community to provide transformational educational opportunities for young men and women in the developing world. With your support, our hope is that, when they graduate, these young men and women will have the opportunity to play an important part in improving the future of their communities and nations.

The LBW Trust works by partnering with reputable and well-established NGOs and educational institutions in cricket-playing, developing nations to allow impoverished students the opportunity to receive a tertiary or vocational education. Typically the partner NGO recommends projects to the LBW Trust's Educational Committee. Proposals are reviewed and approved by the LBW Trust's Board of Directors. Once a project is approved, formal funding agreements are exchanged setting out the project's goals, time frame, use of funds and reporting requirements including social impact and key performance measures. The LBW Trust believes that education empowers people and can change lives for the better, not only by providing hope for the individual and their family, but by becoming a vehicle for change in their communities and countries.​

The LBW Trust fundraises through charitable donations, the LBW Trust Annual dinner, Batting for Change events, and Women for Change fundraising campaigns. Each of these avenues draws on the support of Australians, the cricketing community, and our diverse group of Board of Directors, Committee Members, Patrons, and Ambassadors. Our Board of Directors consists of a wide range of professionals, from journalists and authors to accountants, bankers, teachers, lawyers and business people, all bound by a common philanthropic passion and a love of cricket. We are extraordinarily fortunate to have a high-profile group of Patrons that includes a former Prime Minister, the current and previous Governor-General, Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia, Chief of the Defence Force and cricketers regarded as greats of the game.


David Vaux (Chairman)

Mary Konstantopoulos (Hon. Secretary)

Malcolm Alder (Hon. Treasurer)

David Abusah

Mike Coward AM

Robert Lloyd

Phillip Muhlbauer

Penny Verdich


Ted Alexander (Chair)

Ryan Carters (ex officio)

Ed Cowan

Angus Firth

Lizzie Garrett

Matt de Groot

Rob Lloyd

David Vaux


Virginia Briggs

Liz Courtney (Chair)

Eleanor Hall

Mary Konstantopoulos (Sec)

Lisa McIntyre

Kristin Stubbins


Dr. Rodney Cavalier AO

Greg Chappell MBE

General The Hon. Sir Peter Cosgrove AK, MC (Retd)

The Hon. Sir William Deane AC, KBE, QC

Padma Bhushan Rahul Dravid

Honourable John Faulkner

Adam Gilchrist AM

Michael Holding CD

Ian Macfarlane AC

Darshak Mehta OAM

Dr Maurice Newman AC

Kumar Sangakkara

Basil Sellers AM

Malcolm Speed AO


Peter FitzSimons AM

Ellyse Perry

Ryan Carters


Ed Cowan

Alyssa Healy

Moises Henriques

Nic Maddinson

Kurtis Patterson

Stephen O'Keefe